Copy Cats beware!!

Okay, I just have to vent for a minute…. hey, it’s MY blog, and I can vent if I want to!

I’m used to people copying my ideas.  It happens all the time.  So many people are copying my halter invention, it’s not even funny.  There’s not a whole lot I can do about it; I’m not really the litigious type. But this latest “coincidence” has got me peeved!

As some of you are aware, I have been working on my “Flip That Horse!” video series for about a year. You can find lots of information about it here on my website, and you can see all the videos both here, and on YouTube.  Basically, the idea is: I rescue a horse in need of rescuing, put it in the round pen, re-train it, spruce it up, and try to find it a good home.  

About three months ago, I contacted the head of programming at RFD to pitch my idea. Never heard back from them.

Meanwhile, there is a certain well-known clinician who shall remain nameless (CA, you know who you are!) who has a show on RFD which shows him as he tours the country giving clinics to help people with their horses and demonstrating his training techniques.

 Today, I tuned into to RFD and saw his “new” show.  He  basically said: “Welcome to my new series in which I take a rescue horse, put it in the round pen, re-train it, spruce it up, and try to find it a good home.”  Sound familiar?

6 Responses

  1. CA used your exact words?

  2. It was pretty DARN close…. with that and the timing, it’s pretty clear where he got the idea…. oh well… what can you do?

  3. look at the positive side – your idea may have helped hundreds or even thousands of people and horses! 😀
    which would be considered priceless – don’t you think?

  4. Just wanted to comment on your videos. I have watched all of them with Sundance an all I can say is WOW…You know what you are doing!! I have watched several other videos and have bought videos and cannot seem to understand what they are doing. I am so pumped after watching yours! I am ready to start mine right now . I have a 2 year old filly Palomino and a 3 year old filly Percheron and and a 21 month old gelding and I work with them all the time have been on all of them but they just don’t seem to understand what is going on. I am starting your way now and I bet they all will be like OHHH this is what she wants me to do…lol. I just want to say Thank You for posting on the net for us that can’t afford to have 3 horses trained professionally!

Leave a comment